The St. Louis Blues hope they don't need to fire head coach Ken Hitchcock after this year's playoffs. On this day 21 years ago, they fired head coach Brian Sutter, who was the team's winningest coach at the time. Mandatory Credit: Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

Today in NHL History- May 1

Here’s today’s NHL history.

May 1

1965 – The Conn Smythe Trophy was awarded for the first time for the league’s most valuable player during the playoffs. Jean Beliveau was given this honor after beating Chicago 4-0 in Game 7 to win the Stanley Cup. In the history of the Conn Smythe Trophy, Patrick Roy has won the award three times, the most by one player.

1992- The St. Louis Blues hope they don’t have to do this after this season. On this day 21 years ago, the Blues fired head coach Brian Sutter. At the time Sutter was the winningest coach in Blues’ history with a 153-124-73 record. He also won the Jack Adams Award in 1991.

1992 – This is pretty cool and relevant to the time of year, the playoffs. Buffalo player Pat LaFontaine scored a goal in his seventh playoff game of the year. LaFontaine had scored a goal in each of Buffalo’s first six playoff games. He became the first player ever to score a goal in his team’s first seven playoff games.


Thanks to Greatest Hockey Legends again for today’s information. Please check out this great blog.

Next Devils Game Full schedule »
Tuesday, Oct 2828 Oct7:00at Pittsburgh PenguinsBuy Tickets

Tags: May 1 NHL History

comments powered by Disqus