Round Robin: 1999-00 vs. 2011-12

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

For all of the previous parts, check out the “WhatIfSports Series” Category to find all of the parts thusfar.

Despite being in only “Round 2″ of the Round Robin phase, this game will determine who plays last-place 2002-03.

Game 1

Not much happened in the first period aside from a David Clarkson high sticking penalty not even 40 seconds in.

Kevin Daneyko started the the scoring for the series with a goal to give 2000 a 1-0 lead.

While the second period didn’t see much scoring from that point on, the third faced a flurry of goals. Randy McKay pushed the lead to 2-0 but Zach Parise cut the lead back to 2-1 with help from Petr Sykora and Marek Zidlicky. Sykora then helped out his own cause by scoring to tie the game at 2-2. Just over a minute later, Scott Niedermayer scored to give 2000 the lead once again 3-2. 16:21 into the 3rd, Patrik Elias scored for 2012 to tie the game back up again to salvage the game for his team.

The first OT saw intense, clean play. No penalties but no scoring. The second OT was the exact same thing. Now the game ventured into uncharted territory for the entire tournament. Daneyko got called for a holding penalty 7:44 into triple overtime. That proved to kill 2000. Ilya Kovalchuk won the game on a goal assisted by Eric Boulton and Kurtis Foster.

After a thrilling Game 1, 2011-12 won 4-3 in triple overtime to take a 1-0 series lead.

Game 2

Patrik Elias opened up the scoring in the second game for 2000 and gave them a 1-0 lead in the first period. Towards the latter half of the period, Bobby Holik scored to push the lead to 2-0.

2012 came out in a hurry for the second period as Alexei Ponikarovsky cut the lead to 2-1. 8:40 into the second Lyle Odelein, with the help of Oliwa and Lemieux, extended the league back to 2. About a minute later, John Madden extended the lead even more, 4-1.

2012 tried desperately to salvage the series lead. Henrique cut the game to 4-2, but Elias scored a late goal and extended the lead to 5-2 and that is how the score would stand.

1999-00 tied up the series 1-1 with a dominating 5-2 win.

Game 3

The first period was littered with penalties but there was also one goal. Bobby Holik scored to give 2000 a 1-0 lead.

A little over a minute into the second period, Petr Sykora scored to give 2000 a 2 goal lead. A few minutes later, Ryan Carter cut the lead to 2-1 to give 2012 life once again.

Unfortunately for 2012, that was all they could muster up.

1999-00 took a 2-1 series lead with a 2-1 win.

Game 4

Once again Bobby Holik helped 2000 into an early lead with a goal, 1-0. About 40 seconds later, Henrique quickly tied up the game.

Early in the second period, Petr Sykora pushed 2000 into the lead once again 2-1.

At 7:11 into the third, Elias (2000) was charged with an interference penalty. 17 seconds later, 2012 cashed in on the opportunity to tie the game on a Parise PP goal. Patrik Elias then made up for his mistake and gave 2000 the lead once again a few minutes later. Petr Sykora then posted another goal for 2000 and sealed the game up for them 4-2.

1999-00 pushed the series lead to 3-1 with a 4-2 win.

Game 5

The first period was hotly contested but no one was able to break through for the first goal of the game.

Early in the second, Petr Sykora continued his hot streak and pushed 2000 up 1-0 with hopes of clinching the series. About 2 minutes later, Scott Gomez tacked on another and extended the lead, 2-0.

With the series slipping out of their grasp, Parise took matters into his own hands about a minute into the third and cut the lead to 2-1 with a lot of time left. 12:53 into the period, Zubrus tied the game with help from Ilya Kovalchuk. 16:24 into the period, the other Petr Sykora saved the series for 2012 and gave them a 3-2 lead.

2011-12 stayed alive in the series, cutting it to 3-2 with a huge, comeback 3-2 win.

Game 6

Not much happened in the first until Scott Stevens scored to give 2000 a 1-0 with hopes to clinch the series once again.

Midway into the second, Sheldon Souray scored to give 2000 a 2-goal lead and once again put 2012 up against the wall. Immediately after, as if by design, Parise breathes life into 2012 once again by cutting a 2-0 lead to 2-1 for the second straight game. Kovalchuk then responded by tying up the game with about seven and a half minutes left in the second. It would result differently this time though as Bobby Holik gave 2000 the lead once again. A couple of minutes later Petr Sykora, last game’s hero, locked things up with another clutch goal to tie the game at 3. After Gomez was tagged with a penalty, Kovalchuk scored a PP goal with 2 seconds left in the period to give 2012 a 4-3 lead.

A little bit into the third, Elias (2012) pushed the lead up to 5-3 and Brodeur was replaced by Chris Terreri in net.

2011-12 tied up the series 3-3 with a 5-3 win.

Game 7

2012 tried to break through early with their momentum and they did just that with a Zubrus goal to give them a 1-0 lead. Late in the period, Gomez tied up the game at 1 to open the game wide open again.

Quickly out of the break, Sergei Nemchinov gave 2000 a 2-1 lead from a goal that was scored 28 seconds into the second period. Later, John Madden pushed the lead to 2 goals, 3-1.

As if the script for the movie was already being written, Parise cut the lead down to 1 goal once again with about 12 minutes left in the game. Unfortunately, the movie would need to be put on hold as that was all they could get.

1999-00 won the series (barely) 4-3 with a 3-2 win.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

comments powered by Disqus