Round Robin: 2002-03 vs. 1999-00

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

The Final Round of the Round Robin portion of the tournament is finally upon us. In this matchup, it is a preview of one of the first semifinal matchup. 2002-03 and 1999-00 already sealed their fates as last and first, respectively. This matchup will give both teams a chance to figure each other out and prepare for their semifinal series together. Here we go!

Game 1

2000 started off the series with a Lyle Odelein goal about 6 and a half minutes into the first period. About a minute later, Claude Lemiux extended the lead to 2-0 and put 2000 in an early opportunity to run away with this game. For 2003, Brian Gionta received a game misconduct from the ref at 14:50 into the period.

Jamie Langenbrunner led off the second with a goal to cut the lead to 1 goal. Joe Nieuwendyk tied the game up 13:07 into the period.

In the third, 2000 would have 2 PP opportunities while 2003 had 1 but neither team could capitalize on the golden opportunity.

In OT, 2000 would have 2 more chances on the PP but still could not convert. Jeff Friesen eventually made them pay and won the game for 2003.

2002-03 takes a 1-0 series lead with a 3-2 OT win.

Game 2

Jeff Friesen would continue the scoring with a PP goal to give 2003 the lead 1-0.

A very clean game would ensue for the second period but eventually Krzyzstof Oliwa scored to tie the game up at 1.

In the third period, Scott Stevens would assist Scott Gomez to give 2000 the lead 2-1 only 3 minutes into the third. 2003 would not be able to tie the game back up, and 2000 pulls out the win.

1999-00 ties the series at 1 with a 2-1 win.

Game 3

Bobby Holik opened a decisive Game 3 with a goal to put 2000 up 1-0. Randy McKay was then called for tripping and 2003 was put on the PP. Elias would then make them pay for the penalty and he tied the game up at 1. John Madden would then give 2003 the lead, 2-1, right before the first period ended.

Late in the second period, Elias (1999-00) would tie the game up 2-2 with help from Petr Sykora and Brian Rafalski.

The third period would see little notable action until 1:07 left in the game when Madden dished it off to Niedermayer who then got it to Gomez and 2000 won a decisive Game 3 on that goal, 3-2.

1999-00 takes a 2-1 series lead on a very close 3-2 win.

Game 4

2000 once again opened the scoring on a Scott Niedermayer goal to give them an early lead. Not one minute later, Jeff Friesen tied the game up at 1.

Patrik Elias answered back in the second period to give 2000 the lead once again.

About a minute into the third, Madden tied up the game once again off a rebound. Elias answered back once again late in the period to give 2000 the lead. As if there was any doubt, 2003 tied it back up very late in the period on a goal from Turner Stevenson.

2000 would commit 3 penalties in the OT period including one double minor and it would eventually lose them the game as Langenbrunner cashed in on a PP opportunity to win 2003 the game.

2002-03 ties up the series at 2 with a 4-3 OT win.

Game 5

This would turn out to be a very low-scoring game and it started with no scoring in the 1st and one penalty.

2000 couldn’t resist scoring first, as usual and Claude Lemieux would give them a 1-0 lead.

About midway through the period, Randy McKay would extend that lead to 2-0 and that would be all for the game.

1999-00 takes a 3-2 series lead with a 2-0 win.

Game 6

The scoring would open in the second period as Scott Stevens would give 2000 another opening lead.

In the third, 2003 would fight back to tie up the game on a Nieuwendyk goal about 9 minutes in. With just under 6 minutes left, Sergei Nemchinov would give 2000 the final lead they would need and they closed off the series, and the round robin portion, undefeated.

2002-03 finishes 0-3 and this series proved as a good preview for what was to come.


Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

comments powered by Disqus