New Jersey Devils: 5 Ways Taylor Hall Wins MVP Again

(Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images)
(Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images) /
6 of 6
(Photo by Andre Ringuette/NHLI via Getty Images)
(Photo by Andre Ringuette/NHLI via Getty Images) /

Taylor Hall Leads The League In Points

In three of the last five years, the winner of the Art Ross Trophy also won the league MVP. Alex Ovechkin, Sidney Crosby and Patrick Kane led the league in points, and won the Hart Trophy. If Hall leads the league in points, he will automatically be in the conversation for MVP. It’s just what happens. Early last season, Nikita Kucherov was getting a ton of love in the MVP conversation. He obviously fell off considerably, but it shows how important point totals can be for voters.

Hall needs to break the 100 point mark to win the Art Ross Trophy in today’s NHL. Since the 2004 lockout, there was only one year where a player didn’t break 100 points. Jamie Benn won the Art Ross Trophy with 87 points in 2015 (not counting the 2013 lockout shortened season). That season was an anomaly, and we don’t expect to see that anytime soon.

If Hall finds a way to lead this league in points, beating out the Connor McDavids and Sidney Crosbys of the world, then he will not only get MVP consideration, but he will be immediately vaulted to one of the best players in the league. He should be there already, but preseason rankings show otherwise. If he leads the league in points, then that changes in an instant. He will not only put himself on the map, but he will make the Devils a team analysts can’t help but give respect to. At the end of the day, isn’t that what an MVP does?

Next. Miles Wood Reinvents Himself, Again. dark